Ask The Wizard: How Do I Publish Schedules Online for Staff Viewing? - Online Employee Schedule Software | Workforce Management – ShiftPlanning.com

Ask The Wizard: How Do I Publish Schedules Online for Staff Viewing?

The idea behind publishing schedules is to allow managers to create shifts without having their staff view it before the schedule is finalized. Once a schedule is created and is ready for employees to view, hitting the ‘Publish’ button will notify employees and allow them to view it. This ‘Publish’ schedule setting is enabled by […]

The idea behind publishing schedules is to allow managers to create shifts without having their staff view it before the schedule is finalized. Once a schedule is created and is ready for employees to view, hitting the ‘Publish’ button will notify employees and allow them to view it.

This ‘Publish’ schedule setting is enabled by default. If you want to disable this feature, go to the ‘Admin’ tab, click on ‘Settings’ from the left sidebar and under ‘Schedule Settings’, uncheck the ‘Use the Draft/Publish schedule method’.

https://d2eos31sn1as5.cloudfront.net/17_11_11_16_04_00.jpg

When this feature is disabled (unchecked), schedules are always visible to your staff. Any newly created shift will be live for staff viewing immediately. When enabled (checked), you will need to manually ‘Publish’ schedules to save new shifts for staff viewing.

https://d2eos31sn1as5.cloudfront.net/02_04_12_12_44_01.png

After clicking the ‘Publish’ button, you will be prompted to either: (1) not notify employees, (2) notify employees, or (3) notify employees and managers. It also gives an option to include a custom message in the notification itself.

https://d2eos31sn1as5.cloudfront.net/02_04_12_12_45_08.png

Once a schedule is published, any changes made to existing shifts will automatically update so staff members will be able to immediately view these changes on their schedules. When you ‘Republish’ the schedule, it will then notify staff of the shift changes. This is the same when another person is added to an already published shift. It will also automatically update their schedule but will not notify them until the schedule is republished.

However, if you add new shifts to an already published schedule, it will not be available for staff viewing. You will need to ‘Publish’ the schedule again to save these new shifts and notify staff members of these shifts.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to comment below, email us at info@shiftplanning.com, or tweet us @ShiftPlanning.

Happy Scheduling!

Related Posts:
On-Call Scheduling Feature Now Available for More Scheduling Flexibility
Improved Functionality of Our Print Schedule Option
Ask The Wizard: How Does Leave Management Work in ShiftPlanning?
Employee Scheduling Is Now Easier with Monthly Staff Availability Feature
Seniority Based Tracking & Scheduling Now Available in ShiftPlanning

Sign up for a free 30 day trial today.
No credit card is required.